Residents of Austin live in the state capital of Texas and the eleventh largest metropolitan area in the country. Almost 1.9 million people live in Austin (U.S. Census in 2012). According to the state department of insurance, Austin drivers pay an average $1,290 per year in car insurance premiums. Car insurance is required to operate a vehicle in the state of Texas.
Austin car insurance requirements
Texas state laws require the following minimum car insurance levels for all drivers: property damage liability of $25,000, and bodily injury liability of $30,000/$60,000.
Many drivers want higher property damage and bodily injury liability limits. Car insurance is one of the least expensive ways to protect against the financial impact of property loss or injuries suffered in a car accident. Most financial planners recommend $100,000 in property damage liability and $100,000/$300,000 in bodily injury liability to adequately protect the driver’s financial assets.
Austin comprehensive insurance
Austin’s weather can be severe and hailstorms can cause significant auto body damage. Comprehensive coverage pays for hail damage, so most drivers in Austin want to purchase it. Comprehensive insurance handles other serious car insurance problems, including theft or vandalism. Of course, the insured must pay his or her deductible on any car insurance claim.
Impact of violations on state surcharges and car insurance premiums
Safe drivers pay the lowest car insurance premiums. It is very important to drive safely: drive at or under the speed limit in Austin and throughout Texas. Drivers also receive a five percent discount on car insurance premiums after completing safe driver and drug awareness training classes.
Image Credit: ahknight
Moving violations, such as speeding tickets, are costly in Texas. Speeding fines may cost the driver a thousand dollars or more. Unfortunately, after paying the cost of the moving violation, the driver must then pay higher car insurance rates. And accumulated points on the driver’s record can require an additional surcharge of a mere one hundred to thousands of dollars every year. Sadly, moving violations remain on the driver’s state record for five years!
Car registration requirements
In order to register a car in Texas, the driver must bring current proof-of-insurance to the Travis, Williamson, or Hays county assessor collector’s office.
Drivers can compare auto insurance rates by contacting a major insurance company’s agent or broker in Austin.